I’M BACK and a Review: The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae

Hello everyone!

Hope you’re doing well and enjoying the warm weather 🙂

I apologise for my unintended month long break and lack of posts, it was way too hot to function over here in like 35 degree weather and I was just a wet puddle on the floor haha!

I’ve also had the WORST reading month, I’ve read nothing. I’m not even joking, I wish I was. I’ve read like three pages and that’s it 😦 So these reviews are from July! 🙂

Anyway, it’s good to be back 🙂


This review will be the first in the series (currently a duology but I’m hoping for a third!) books that I was recommended by Ellie over at Princess of Ink. I loved these books SO much and I would definitely recommend them! Onto my review…

Goodreads Summary:

Zahru has long dreamed of leaving the kingdom of Orkena and having the kinds of adventures she’s only ever heard about in stories. But as a lowly Whisperer, her power to commune with animals means that her place is serving in the royal stables until the day her magic runs dry.

All that changes when the ailing ruler invokes the Crossing: a death-defying race across the desert, in which the first of his heirs to finish—and take the life of a human sacrifice at the journey’s end—will ascend to the throne and be granted unparalleled abilities.

With all of the kingdom abuzz, Zahru leaps at the chance to change her fate if just for a night by sneaking into the palace for a taste of the revelry. But the minor indiscretion turns into a deadly mistake when she gets caught up in a feud between the heirs and is forced to become the Crossing’s human sacrifice. Zahru is left with only one hope for survival: somehow figuring out how to overcome the most dangerous people in the world.

CW/TWs:
•murder
•violence
•blood
•kidnapping

This was BRILLIANT!

I feel like such a fool for not picking this up sooner, and big thanks to Ellie for recommending this to me. I’m now part of the cult and will definitely be recommending this to people too haha!

The world building was lush and descriptive, you could really feel the desert and the heat burning on your skin.

I enjoyed the characters, Zahru is a badass and I really appreciated the fact that she wasn’t the strongest person in the book, she had her faults and her doubts but they were put to use in positive ways! I loved Jet, Marcus, Melia and Kita! The secondary characters felt well-fleshed out and they add to the story.

The plot kept me up till 2am, this book just sucked me into the world and the events and I couldn’t put it down! The pacing was great too, I needed more asap and it was a good job the next book was available straight away as I couldn’t have handled waiting a year for the sequel.

I would recommend this to fans of adventure, love triangles, a badass heroine, epic storytelling and fast paced action!

5 out of 5 stars overall.


Have you read this? What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments 🙂

One thought on “I’M BACK and a Review: The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae

Leave a comment